jump to navigation

Migrating a Physical Computer to a Virtual Machine October 4, 2006

Posted by Hank Wallace in Virtualization.
trackback

Ben Armstrong (a Program Manager on the Virtual machine team at Microsoft) writes about migrating to a virtual machine.

Using Virtual PC for computer migration

Tips for migrating a physical computer to a virtual machine (part 1)

Tips for migrating a physical computer to a virtual machine (part 2)

Tips for migrating a physical computer to a virtual machine (part 3)

Tips for migrating a physical computer to a virtual machine (part 4)

I just received a new hard drive for my laptop and will be installing Windows Vista on it. I will use Virtual PC to create a backup of my current Windows XP install. This will allow me to run Vista while still having access to my old setup. Problem solved!

Technorati tags: ,

Comments

1. Patrick - February 15, 2007

Can you take a vpc image and automatically convert it to a hard disk? It would be great to go backwards with it.

2. Hank Wallace - February 16, 2007

Not that I know of.

3. Toby - March 22, 2007

How do I do this:
Use the Virtual Hard Disk wizard to create a linked virtual hard disk pointing to the hard disk from the old computer.
I tried but I can’t figure it out.

4. Hank Wallace - March 22, 2007

Start Virtual PC and there is “File” / “Virtual Disk Wizard” menu item. The wizard will lead you through the steps required.

5. Joel Bedard - August 15, 2007

>Can you take a vpc image and automatically convert it to a hard disk? >It would be great to go backwards with it.

Yes you can, but a tool (like Ghost). It’s not “direct”, but at least it’s possible to do it!

6. Thomas - March 7, 2008

take a look at the software winimage.
http://www.winimage.com

it claims that is allows VHD convert back to physical drive

I have test out physical to VHD using winimage

good luck


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

