jump to navigation

Resisting the iPhone February 25, 2008

Posted by Hank Wallace in Mobile.
trackback

Tim Jarrett writes about LinkedIn releasing an iPhone UI and I am starting to wonder how much longer I can resist the iPhone. I have wanted a mobile internet device combined with a phone for a long time.

Years ago I purchased a Dell Axim x51v. It’s still a great mobile device, but I have stopped carrying it and should probably sell it. It handled everything I wanted it to, but I was annoyed that I had to carry it along with my traditional phone.

 

Last year (about 3 months before the iPhone came out) I needed to switch mobile phone carriers. After much research, I determined that Verizon was the carrier I wanted to switch to. I knew the iPhone was about to be launched, but had some bad history with Cingular/AT&T.

I bought a Pantech PN-820. I thought I could live with the small screen and terrible music player interface. I was WRONG. Although I have stopped carrying the Dell Axim with me, I never use the PN-820 for anything other than a phone or simple contact management.

 

When does the iPhone/AT&T arrangement end? I guess I will keep waiting..

Technorati tags: , , ,
