jump to navigation

Execution, not Ideas February 26, 2010

Posted by Hank Wallace in Uncategorized.
trackback

I came across this post by Jeff Atwood today, which reminds me just how wrong the following phrase is: Build a better mousetrap, and the world will beat a path to your door. While working at my first startup company, I would often wake up in the middle of the night with great ideas (what, you don’t believe that they were great?). At the time I thought many of them could be the basis of the next startup.

They weren’t. Don’t get me wrong. Some of the ideas were good and many of them are now successful products, but I am not the one responsible for building them. I didn’t have a team in place to execute them, so someone else did.

Ideas are a dime a dozen. Execution is what matters!

